Dafny: about strength of proving

Oct 1, 2012 at 10:38 PM

I study refinement in Dafny (later I studied refinement in theory only). It's really cool! Thanks, Rustan, for refinement in Dafny! I write and verify simple implementation of FIFO: http://rise4fun.com/Dafny/6RqT. And I'm frustrated about how many proofs I has to do manually in this simple implementation. I'm sorry if I wrong use refinement in Dafny. For example, I think Dafny should prove (automatically) assertion on the line #171 (instead of this I has to write assertion on lines #168 which repeats postcondition of the method "enqueue"). The same issue is on line #173 (To prove it I has to write assertion on line #169 which repeats postcondition of the method "dequeue").

Are these additional assertions really needed or I use refinement in Dafny incorrectly ?

Oct 2, 2012 at 9:53 AM

The same question about datatypes only (without refinement) : Dafny unrolls recursion by 1 step (by default) so Dafny can't automatically prove assertion on line #22 in the following program: http://rise4fun.com/Dafny/7slC . I can prove this assertion manually (see line #23). But I'm interesting in way of automatically proving the assertion on the line #22 (i.e. without changing of the assertion, as in line #23, and without additional lemmas), is it possible ?

Coordinator
Oct 18, 2012 at 2:51 AM

Recently, I changed the way method specifications are encoded for intra-module calls and refinement.  That change seems to have fixed the problem you reported of having to repeat the postconditions.

I am able to get your first example through with no supporting lemmas in test() and test2().  You are using the refinement features along the lines of their intended use.